Behold the handmaid!

Your will not mine is this handmaid’s song,

No higher calling, no greater honor than to be wholly deposed to you.

A life surrendered, heart given, spirit yielded, mind overtaken

A destiny overshadowed by you, a body subjected to you,

The refrain in this handmaid’s song; posses me O Lord for in your reins I am free.

Totally, fully, unreservedly, unashamedly yours,

This life belongs to you, let it be a reflection of who you are

This heart; let it resonate to the sound of your own heartbeat

These hands; let them build with you,

These feet; let them walk down your just paths

These lips; let them sing forth the praises of you that calls me by name

This womb; let it birth the fruit of your incorruptible seed

Let the totality of who I am converge to produce you.

Be it  unto me according to your Word, is the echo of this song

Affirming that you take the lead; I follow, gladly so

Lord my heart is not haughty, nor my eyes lofty

Neither do I concern myself with great matters,

Nor with things too profound me

Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul

Like a weaned child with his mother

Like a weaned child is my soul within me

Behold the handmaid of the Lord!

PS; A story of surrender-Jon Jorgenson, he gets it! This is a piece of  worded art, pulsed with LIFE!

Author: itsthesonginthewords

I love words, I love music and I would love to share with you the inspiration I draw from them!

Leave a comment